تقديم الإطار العام للمؤتمر

السياق العام

من أهم ديناميات حقبة الأونتروبوسين (كفصل جديد من التاريخ الجيولوجي للأرض يتميز بارتقاء الإنسان إلى قوة يمكنها الإخلال بتوازنات النظام البيئي) قُدرة الأنظمة الاجتماعية الهائلة على التفاعل مع الأنظمة البيئية وتغيير دينامياتها وتوازناتها بإيقاعات سريعة وبآثار تعجز المعرفة المتوفرة حاليا عن استيعابها بنوع من اليقين. وبالفعل، فقد تمكّنت المجتمعات البشرية من إنتاج بيئاتها الخاصة (بهدف إشباع حاجيات متجددة ليست بالضرورة أساسية لبقاء وتطور الجنس البشري) بشكل منفصل أحيانا عن الأنظمة البيئية، وغالبا مع تجاوز القدرة الاستيعابية والخطوط الحمراء لهذه الأخيرة بشكل غير قابل للإصلاح. ونتيجة ذلك هو الفشل فـــي إدراك أن الإنسان يشكل جزءا من النظام البيئي، والعمل وفق هذا التصور على كل المستويات. والأسوأ من ذلك هو أن هذا الفشل غير المسبوق يترافق مع ظهور العديد من المخاطر والأزمات المهددة للأنظمة الاجتماعية والبيئية معاً بشكل مترابط ومعقد. هذا الوضع يكشف بوضوح عدم قدرة الأنظمة الاجتماعية على تدبير هذه المخاطر والأزمات بنجاعة، نظرا لكون القيم الأساسية التي بنيت عليها هذه الأنظمة هي السّبب الأساسي فــــي ظهور هذه المخاطر والأزمات. ويمثل تغير المناخ وتراجع التنوع البيولوجي وتدهور مجموعة من الأنظمة البيئية (وهي أساس الأمن الإنساني وقدرة  الأنظمة الاجتماعية على التطور والتكيف)، بالإضافه إلى عوامل أخرى، أهم تجليات هذا التغيير. وفي نفس السياق، توجد ديناميات كثيرة تؤثّر على الأنظمة الاجتماعية، منها الفقر والنّزاعات والهجرة وغياب العدالة ووجود التفاوتات، وهي بدورها من نتائج ديناميات التغير البيئي والمناخي. 

ومن أجل توضيح ذلك، فإن النظام الغذائي العالمي الحالـــي مثلا، باعتباره نظاما سوسيو بيئيا، هو المحرك الأساسي للتّغير البيئي والمناخي، وتغيير استعمال الأراضي، واستنزاف الموارد المائية، واندثار التّنوع البيولوجي، وتلوث الأنظمة الإيكولوجية المائية والأرضية، وتدهور الصحة العامة. وقد تنبأ المتخصصين في هذا المجال أنه خلال العقود المقبلة، وكنتيجة لديناميات كثيرة، فإن التأثيرات البيئية والمناخية والصحية للنظام الغذائي العالمي يمكن أن تزداد بشكل معقد لاسيما فــي غياب التدابير المناسبة. وستصل الخطورة إلــى مستويات تتجاوز القدرة الاستيعابية والخطوط الحمراء لتوازن النظام البيئي العالمي كمجال حيوي آمن للإنسانية. وبيّن المتخصصون أيضاً أن خيارات تدبير التأثيرات البيئية والمناخية على النظام الغذائي، مع تلبية الطّلب المتزايد على الغَذَاء بشكل مستدام، يتطلب تطبيق حلول بشكل متكامل وبطريقة اندماجية وفق إطارات مفاهيمية وسياسية تتميّز بالابتكار والفعالية.

 

وبشكل عام، فإن الأخطار والديناميات المؤثرة على الأنظمة السوسيوبيئية تدفع بشكل استعجالي إلى إعادة التفكير بشكل عميق فــي طبيعة التفاعل بين هذه الأنظمة من منظور مختلف وبراديغمات جديدة. إن الأنظمة الاجتماعية، نظرا لمسؤوليتها الرئيسية عن هشاشة الأنظمة البيئية وفقدانها لأغلب توازناتها الأساسية، ونظراً للقدرات المتاحة لها حاليا (المعرفة، التكنولوجيا، القدرة على العمل، إلخ) يجب عليها اعتماد مرجعيات وآليات جديدة من أجل تفادي السيناريوهات المخيفة التي توصل إليها البحث العلمي حاليا. وينبغي أن يشمل هذا التوّجه جميع جوانب التفاعل بين النظامين معا لاسيما: تكامل وإعَادة هيكلة أنظمة حكامة الأنظمة السوسيوبيئية (المعايير، الفاعلين، القيم وعمليات اتخاذ القرار) ؛ إعادة التفكير في أدوار أنظمة الإنتاج والاستهلاك بعيداً عن نموذج النّمو وثقافة الاستهلاك؛ وتطوير آليات ناجعة لتقوية قدرات الأنظمة السوسيوبيئية على التكيف وتكريس الاستدامة؛ واعتماد المقاربات والبراديغمات الفعالة أثناء بلورة وتطبيق الآليات الرامية لتدبير المخاطر واستغلال الفرص المتاحة (مثل مقاربة النوع، المقاربة السوسيوبيئية، المقاربة الحقوقية والأمن الإنساني...).

الأهداف والمقاربة

 

يرمي المؤتمر بالأساس إلى تعميق النقاش وتبادل الخبرة فـــي مجالات الأنظمة السوسيو بيئية فـــي سياق تَدَاخُل وترابط المخاطر والديناميات المهددة لأمن واستدامة هذه الأنظمة، مع التركيز على الحُلُول المبتكرة من أجل تعزيز قدرة هذه الأنظمة على التكيف مع اعتبار الترابط المتبادل فيما بينها. وبشكل أدق تتمثل مقاربة المؤتمر فيما يلي:

- تقييم العوامل البنيوية لهشاشة الأنظمة السوسيو بيئية فــي سياق المخاطر الشاملة والتهديدات الأمنية .

- تحديد التفاعلات الأساسية بين الأنظمة الاجتماعية والأنظمة البيئية.

تقييم قدرة أو عدم قدرة الآليات الموجودة (أنظمة الحكامة، المرجعيات الفكرية، الأنماط الثقافية والقيم، التكنولوجيا) على تعزيز قدرة الأنظمة السوسيوبيئية على التكيف والاستدامة.

- تحديد وتعزيز المقاربات  وآليات العمل الناجعة والفعالة الكفيلة بتصحيح التوجهات الحالية وتفادي الوقوع في السيناريوهات غير المرغوب فيها.

يعتبر المؤتمر فرصة لتبادل الخبرات والتجارب الناجحة، بالإضافة إلى تحديد الخيارات الناجعة لتمكين  الأنظمة السوسيو-بيئية من تطوير قدراتها على التكيف في سياق مستدام. وللإشارة، فإن محاور المؤتمر ذات البعد متعدد التخصصات وذات الصلة بعمليات اتخاذ القرار ستمكن من التفاعل بين الحقول المعرفية والتفاعل مع  صانعي السياسات.

نشر أعمال المؤتمر

لقد تم نشر جزء كبير من الأعمال المقدمة خلال النسخ السابقة من المؤتمر من قبل دور نشر شهيرة. وتتيح اللجنة المنظمة نفس الفرصة للمشاركين في المؤتمر القادم الراغبين في نشر أعمالهم لإرسال أوراقهم العلمية الكاملة بعد قبول الملخص وفقا للقواعد التوجيهية التي يفرضها الناشر. وسيتم تزويد الباحثين بنسخ من الكتب المنشورة حسب عقود النشر.

لغات المؤتمر
 

 العربية والإنجليزية والفرنسية هي اللغات الأساسية، وذلك لتوسيع قاعدة المشاركين في المؤتمر.

Concept Note & Tracks

Background

One of the most striking dynamics of the Anthropocene Era is the ability of anthropogenic processes to interact with ecological systems on a large scale and at a rapid rate, with greater intensity and uncertain consequences. Human societies have managed to build many forms of disconnected environments to meet a myriad of needs – which are not usually considered as fundamental to the survival and development of human species – while crossing many ecological thresholds, sometimes irreversibly. The failure to perceive these societies as part of the Earth System (Geosphere, Atmosphere, Biosphere, and Hydrosphere), and act accordingly, is increasingly associated with the emergence of interdependent and complex risks – that are mostly global in scope and unprecedented in scale – affecting the security, viability and resilience of both social and ecological systems at all levels. This, in turn, continuously unveils our incapacity to efficiently manage these risks and crises by using the same value systems, which are the main cause of their emergence. Failure to mitigate and adapt to climate change, biodiversity loss, man-made environmental disasters,  and the collapse of many ecosystems represent, among others, the chief risks to social systems. These risks affect, among others, food and health systems, socio-economic development, and political integration with many implications for well-being, productivity, and even regional and domestic security. Similarly, many risks affecting social systems, such as poverty, hunger, conflicts, displacements, injustice, inequalities, etc. are increasingly induced by ecological systems' dynamics, especially environmental and climate changes. As it is recently expressed, of all the risks to the globe, it is in relation to the environment that the world is most clearly sleepwalking into catastrophe.

For illustration purposes, the current global food system – as a Social-Ecological System – is highly impacted by biodiversity loss and climate change through changes in temperature, precipitation, extreme weather events, and sea-level rise. In the meantime, the global food system is a major driver of biodiversity loss and climate change given its higher carbon emissions, depletion of freshwater and land resources, increased pollution of aquatic and terrestrial ecosystems, deterioration of public health, increased mortality and animal suffering. The way we produce and consume food, especially in Northern and the so-called emerging countries, is increasingly considered as a human and environmental catastrophe. Scientists predict that within the coming decades, the ecological, climatic and health challenges of the global food system could dramatically increase in the absence of appropriate response mechanisms, reaching levels beyond the planetary boundaries that define a safe operating space for humanity. It was also shown that options for reducing the negative environmental and health effects of the food system, while meeting increasing food demands sustainably, need to be implemented simultaneously and in an integrated way according to innovative conceptual and policy frameworks.

Such dynamics urgently press us to rethink the nature of interaction between social and ecological systems from different perspectives and new paradigms. The social systems currently bear the main responsibility to change their relationship with the ecological systems, given the available capacities (i.e. knowledge, technology, power of action) that can be mobilized to reverse destructive trends. The shifts to be made should cover all aspects of interaction between the two systems such as: The integration and restructuring of governance frameworks (multilevel norms, actors, values and deliberations…) from a Social-Ecological System perspective; the reorganization of production and consumption systems far from the growth model and consumerism; the elaboration of mitigation, adaptation, and SDGs implementation measures while reinforcing the resilience and viability of a Social-Ecological System; and the consideration of appropriate approaches and paradigms while elaborating and implementing response mechanisms (such as the gender approach, human rights and human security, socio-ecosystem approach).

Approach & Objectives

 

The 5th International Conference (SES2019) – as a part of a series of science-policy fora organized by CERES along with many partners since 2009 – is an opportunity to deepen the debate about Social-Ecological Systems (SES). The approach consists of: 

  • Assessing the structural drivers of vulnerability, crises and insecurity of Social-Ecological Systems; 

  • Identifying areas of integration and synergy given the interdependence of Social-Ecological Systems;

  • Assessing the ability and inability of existing response mechanisms (governance frameworks, conceptual referential, cultural patterns and values...) to foster the resilience and viability of SES; and

  • Promoting approaches and ways of action to reverse undesirable trends. 

 

Speakers from different perspectives will be provided the opportunity to present their research, insights, and successful practices, and explore innovative options to guide future processes of change with regard to the resilience and viability of Social-Ecological Systems. The Conference topics are multidisciplinary – enabling fruitful interactions between numerous scientific fields – and relevant to policy-making processes – enabling interactions among researchers/experts/practitioners and decision makers from different scales and spheres. 

Publication

A large part of the works presented during the previous editions of the Conference had been published by famous publishers such as Springer NatureRoutledge Environment & SustainabilityLaval University PressIRD Editions, etc. Delegates wishing to publish their research papers after the Conference venue will be given the opportunity to submit their complete papers upon acceptance of their abstracts according to the publication guidelines imposed by the selected publisher. Book editors and chapters' authors are systematically provided with copies of published volumes whether in soft or hard format according to the publishing contracts.

Key Languages

The Conference languages are: English, French, and Arabic.